Against All Odds Message Board
Against All Odds Message Board
5/4/2024 12:28:20 PM
Home | Old Board Archives | Events | Polls
Photo Album | Classifieds | Downloads
Profile | Register | Members | Private Messages | Search | Posting Tips | FAQ | Web Links | Chat
Bookmarks | Active Topics
Invite A Friend To Face The Odds!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Battle of the Little Bighorn - 1876
 Custer's Last Stand
 The 7th's marksmanship
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly Bookmark this Topic BookMark Topic
Next Page

Author Previous Topic: Did Benteen harbor an aversion against Custer? Topic Next Topic: Responsibility for Custers defeat.
Page: of 2

Brent
Lt. Colonel

USA

Posted - August 16 2007 :  11:51:24 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I always felt that the average 7th trooper was probably a pretty poor shot. Much like Crooks men.. firing thousands of rounds and hitting very little.
Plus I'm a Vietnam vet and saw horrible marksmanship among our soldiers there as well. But here's something interesting I recently came across:
During the battle for Peleliu in WW II, this is what it took to kill just ONE Japanese soldier:
1,331 rounds of .30 cal rifle fire
152 rounds of .45 cal
69 rounds of .50 cal
9 rounds of 60mm mortar
5 rounds of 81 mm mortar
1 rifle grenade
10 hand grenades
6 rounds of 75 mm artillery
5 rounds of 105 artillery
1 round of 155 artillery
1/2 round of 8 " artillery
And--this does not take into account ANY of the thousands of naval 16", 8" 5" and 40 MM shells fired from the fleet, nor ANY of the 250, 500, and thousand pound bombs dropped by Navy and Marine planes. Nor any of the napalm they dropped or the many thousands of rounds of .30 and .50 cal rounds the planes fired in straffing runs.
Now that's all a LOT of ammo!!