The Mohican Board! [Bumppo's Redux!]
The Mohican Board! [Bumppo's Redux!]
9/30/2024 5:26:38 PM
On the Trail...Home | Old Mohican Board Archives | Purpose
Events | Polls | Photos | Classifieds | Downloads
Profile | Register | Members | Private Messages
Search | Posting Tips | FAQ | Web Links | Mohican Chat | Blogs
Forum Bookmarks | Unanswered Posts | Preview Topic Photos | Active Topics
Invite a Friend to the Mohican Board | Guestbook | Greeting Cards | Auction (0) | Colonial Recipe Book
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 COLONIAL TIMES
 The Muster
 Kentucky rifle
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
| More
Bookmark this Topic BookMark Topic

Author Previous Topic: Fort Detroit Under Siege:  1763 Topic Next Topic: Canvas leggins?  

deerslayer
Pathfinder

Hawkeye 3

Bumppo's Patron since [at least]:
October 02 2005

Posted - October 03 2005 :  6:33:32 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hey I am new at the reenacting thing and am looking for a rifle.I don't have much money and cannot get much money.I found this rifle by traditions http://www.possibleshop.com/kentuc-rifle.htm it is the one at the bottom of the page.Do you think this would be good for longhunter reenacting.

May your aim be true and your powder stay dry.
report to moderator

Fitzhugh Williams
Mohicanland Statesman

July 17 2005

Posted - October 04 2005 :  01:21:48 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Copy this URL to Link to this Reply
If by longhunter you mean the period of the 1760's to 1780's, then the style of all of these guns would be much too late. All seek to replicate guns of the early 19th century. Some juried 18th century events specifically prohibit this style. Also, you may not find the flint Traditions a reliable shooter. L&R makes a replacement lock which helps, but it costs around $100 and requires some work to install. The precussion gun shoots OK.

"Les deux pieds contre la muraille et la tete sous le robinet"